FSANA was formerly known as the Friends of Friedrich Wilderness Park. Our name changed and our mission was expanded, reflecting San Antonio’s increasing number of natural areas parks. FSANA is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization, led by a volunteer Board of Directors.


Friends of San Antonio Natural Areas is dedicated to promoting stewardship of San Antonio’s Natural Areas, and to the understanding and appreciation of nature through educational and scientific programs.


The Board of Directors of the Friends of San Antonio Natural Areas is a volunteer body elected to guide accomplishment of FSANA’s public mission.

Board Members

James (“Mike”) Startzell President
Lance Geppert Vice President
Jyotsna Sharma Secretary
Gina Morford Treasurer
Ryan Annis Member at Large
Elizabeth Cook Member at Large
Fred Loxsom Member at Large
Matthew Mangum Member at Large
Shana McDermott Member at Large
Grant Ellis Ex Officio
Nicole McLeod Ex Officio
Kelsey Scherschel Ex Officio